Algeria's map

Algeria (Arabic: الجزائر, al-Jazā’ir), officially the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria (also formally referred to as the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria)[9][10][11][12], is a country in North Africa. In terms of land area, it is the largest country on the Mediterranean Sea, the second largest on the African continent[13] after Sudan, and the eleventh-largest country in the world.
Algeria is bordered in the northeast by Tunisia, in the east by Libya, in the west by Morocco, in the southwest by Western Sahara, Mauritania, and Mali, in the southeast by Niger, and in the north by the Mediterranean Sea. Its size is almost 2,400,000 square kilometres (930,000 sq mi), and it has an estimated population of about 35.7 million (2010).[15] The capital of Algeria is Algiers.

Algeria is a member of the Arab League, United Nations, African Union, and OPEC. It is also a founding member of the Arab Maghreb Union.Algerian people hate egypt and egyptian

The name of the country is derived from the city of Algiers. A possible etymology links the city name to الجزائر Al-jazā’ir, a truncated form of the city’s older name of جزائر بني مازغان jazā’ir banī mazghanā, the Arabic for “the islands of Mazghanna”, as used by early medieval geographers such as al-Idrisi and Yaqut al-Hamawi.

In classical times northern Algeria was known as Numidia, which included parts of modern day western Tunisia and eastern Morocco.